Twitter Facebook Email
February 17-19, 2023 — Westin Boston Seaport District
January 16, 2013

What is the Skylark Award?

As many of you know, Boskone, is the annual convention held by the New England Science Fiction Asssociation (NESFA), one of the oldest science fiction clubs in New England. The club’s longevity provides rich history and insight into the culture of the science fiction community over the past 40 years.

skylark flickr doctorow
Cory Doctorow with David Hartwell’s Skylark – (photo credit gruntzooki)

Each year, NESFA presents the Edward E. Smith Memorial Award for Imaginative Fiction, or more commonly referred to as the Skylark Award. It is presented “to some person, who, in the opinion of the membership, has contributed significantly to science fiction, both through work in the field and by exemplifying the personal qualities which made the late “Doc” Smith well-loved by those who knew him.”

E.E. “Doc” Smith authored both the Lensman and Skylark series and is closely associated with space opera, sometimes even being referred to as the father of space opera. Click here to read Andrew Liptak’s recent post on Kirkus

Past recipients include Charles Stross, George R.R. Martin and Jane Yolen. Haven’t heard the Jane Yolen Skylark story? Click here

This year’s award ceremony takes place at 9pm on Saturday evening in the Harbor Ballroom. Featured Musician Heather Dale starts the evening with a concert at 8pm.